TL;DR
Get home office essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
AJ Bell reduced the annual charge on its ready-made personal pension from 0.45% to 0.35% on 14 October, according to MoneyWeek. The cut makes the pension cheaper on its stated percentage charge, but the report does not provide comparable fees or enough product details to establish its total cost against rivals.
AJ Bell cut the annual charge on its ready-made personal pension from 0.45% to 0.35% on 14 October, lowering the stated fee for savers who prefer a hands-off investment approach. MoneyWeek reported that the reduction makes the pension one of the cheaper options by fee in the managed personal pension market, but the available report does not supply a full like-for-like comparison with other providers.
The reduction is 0.10 percentage points, or 10 basis points, from the previous annual charge. The new rate is charged as a percentage, so the amount in pounds would depend on the pension balance to which the fee applies. The source does not give worked examples or set out whether the percentage charge applies to all assets in every account.
MoneyWeek described the product as a ready-made personal pension for people taking a hands-off approach. Its report characterized the new price as placing AJ Bell among the cheaper providers in the managed personal pension market. That is the publication’s assessment; the supplied material does not name comparator products, show their charges, or specify how the market comparison was made.
The article extract also does not detail any other costs that could affect a customer’s total bill, such as underlying investment expenses, transaction charges or fees for particular services. Nor does it set out eligibility, investment choices or the terms of the pension. The confirmed development in the source is the reduction in AJ Bell’s stated annual charge; a complete assessment of overall value requires more product and competitor information.
Lower Ongoing Cost for Hands-Off Savers
A lower annual percentage fee can reduce the direct charge paid by a pension saver, with the cash amount depending on the account balance and the fee calculation. For someone comparing ready-made pensions, the move gives AJ Bell a lower headline charge than it had before: 0.35% rather than 0.45%.
That headline rate is only one part of a pension’s cost and does not establish which provider is cheapest overall. Investment costs, other account charges, available funds and service features can differ. The report’s description of AJ Bell as one of the cheaper managed pension options may be useful as an initial signal, but readers need current, like-for-like fee schedules before drawing a firm comparison.
Pension fees matter over long periods because charges are deducted from savings, but outcomes also depend on contributions, investment performance and the individual’s circumstances. This report concerns a fee change, not a forecast of returns or a recommendation to transfer or open an account. Investments can fall as well as rise, and savers may lose money.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
What the Report Establishes
The source is a MoneyWeek report titled “AJ Bell cuts fee on ready-made pension – how does it compare to the rest of the market?” It says the platform made the change “today (14 October)” and identifies the old and new annual charges as 0.45% and 0.35%, respectively. The supplied excerpt does not state the year, so the precise calendar date cannot be confirmed from the material provided.
MoneyWeek presents the pension as a managed, ready-made option aimed at investors who do not want to choose and manage investments themselves. It describes the price reduction as placing AJ Bell among the cheaper providers in that segment. The excerpt contains no quoted statement from AJ Bell and no figures for competing pensions. It therefore supports reporting the price cut and the publication’s characterization, but not a ranked table or a claim that the product is the cheapest.
““one of the cheapest fee-wise on the managed personal pension market””
— MoneyWeek
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Comparisons and Total Costs Still Missing
The source does not identify which providers or pension products were used to compare fees, or whether its comparison includes only platform charges or all ongoing costs. It also gives no examples showing what a saver might pay at different pension balances. As a result, the exact market ranking and the product’s total cost relative to rivals cannot be independently established from the supplied information.
The report’s date is given as 14 October but no year is stated in the supplied material. It is also unclear whether the reduced rate applies to every existing and new customer, whether any conditions or balance thresholds apply, and whether other charges changed at the same time. The extract does not include comment from AJ Bell or a full fee schedule.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Check the Current Fee Schedule
Savers considering the pension should consult AJ Bell’s current product terms and fee schedule to confirm the applicable charge, any eligibility conditions and other costs. To compare it with alternatives, they would need to use the same assumptions for account size and investment type and include relevant underlying fund and service charges.
The available source does not announce a further change or provide a date for additional information. Until fuller details or a detailed comparison are available, the confirmed point is the reduction from 0.45% to 0.35%; the overall cost and value relative to other ready-made pensions remain to be checked.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What fee did AJ Bell cut?
MoneyWeek reported that AJ Bell reduced the annual charge on its ready-made personal pension from 0.45% to 0.35% on 14 October. The supplied source does not specify the year.
How much is the reduction?
The rate fell by 0.10 percentage points, equal to 10 basis points. The cash value of that reduction depends on the pension balance and how the charge is applied.
Is AJ Bell now the cheapest ready-made pension?
The report says it is “one of the cheapest” by fee in the managed personal pension market. It does not give competitor prices or a full comparison, so the supplied information does not establish that AJ Bell is the cheapest.
Does the 0.35% charge represent the full cost?
The source identifies the annual charge but does not detail other possible costs, including underlying investment expenses or transaction charges. Customers should check the current fee schedule for the total applicable costs.
Does a lower pension fee guarantee better returns?
No. A lower stated fee does not guarantee investment performance or a higher pension value. Investments can fall as well as rise, and savers can lose money.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
